January 29, 2019 Council Highlights

Jocelyn GagnonArchived, Council Highlights


At the regular Council meeting held on January 29, 2019, Administration was directed to:

  • Purchase the following Public Works and Agricultural Services Departments equipment: Kenworth flatbed and picker, small loader, pickup, roadside mower, wide area mower, tractor, and trailer.
  • Send the Rural Municipalities of Alberta Charitable Gaming report and the associated information links to the Community groups in the County.
  • Appoint Marlene Kunstleben to the Municipal Planning Commission.
  • Appoint Simon Lavoie, Matthew Kolebaba, and Tony Saunders to the Intermunicipal Weed and Pest Notice Appeal Board.
  • Request an exemption from the Minister of Municipal Affairs from the requirements in Sections 605 and 631 of the Municipal Government Act (MGA) for the municipalities of Northern Sunrise County and the Mackenzie County to create an Intermunicipal Development Plan (IDP) between the two parties, as the common boundaries between the two is composed entirely of provincial Crown Land.
  • Send a letter to Municipal Affairs indicating that the County wishes to acquire the lands located at 10203-101 Avenue, Plan 8521688 Lot C within the Village of Nampa.

Council approved the draft Intermunicipal Development Plan with the Town of Peace River as presented.  An Open House for the public to attend in the County will be scheduled.


  • Council gave first reading to Bylaw B342/19 for the purpose of amending Bylaw B275/15 to update definitions, amend Specific Land Use Provision Sections, add the Stripping, Filling, Excavation and Grading use in the appropriate districts, add Stockpile as a use in certain districts, and create an overlay with the Nampa Intermunicipal Development Plan Bylaw B311/17 as amended.  The Public Hearing for this Bylaw will be on February 26, 2019 at 10:00 a.m.
  • Council gave first reading to Bylaw B343/19 for the purpose of creating two new land use districts within the Land Use Bylaw B275/15 specifically for the Sunrise Gateway Business Park as amended.  The Public Hearing for this Bylaw will be on February 26, 2019 at 10:30 a.m.
  • Council gave third reading to and passed Bylaw B345/19 for the purpose of redistricting approximately 5.98 acres within NE-27-83-21-W5M; Plan 7823144; Block A; Lot 1 from Country Residential District (CR) to Agricultural District (A).
  • Council gave first and second reading to Bylaw B346/19 Fees and Charges.  The Bylaw will be brought to the February 12, 2019 regular Council meeting for third reading.


  • Council approved the following Policies:
    • 1.6 Donations and Sponsorships
    • 2.16 Glyphosate Tolerant Alfalfa
    • 3.17 Travel and Subsistence
    • 3.18 Council and Board Remuneration
    • 4.7 Health and Safety
    • Policy 5.1 Personnel
    • Policy 5.4 Workplace Violence and Harassment
    • Policy 5.10 Grievance


  • Up to $2,500 to the Town of Peace River for the Crime Prevention Through Environment Design workshops in partnership with the Town of Peace River and neighboring municipalities.
  • $500 to Good Shepherd School for their Gr. 6 visit to the Provincial Legislature in Edmonton, AB.
  • $5,000 to the Alberta Pond Hockey Championships on March 8-10, 2019.
  • $800 to the Smoky River Regional Economic Development for their Regional Hemp Information Session on March 5, 2019.
  • $2,000 to the Peace Regional Interagency Committee for the Treaty 8 Monument.
  • $750 to the Peace River Aboriginal Hockey Association for the Native Hockey Provincials on April 4-7, 2019 in Edmonton, AB.
  • $1,000 to the Alberta Assessors’ Association Annual Conference on April 8-12, 2019 in Enoch, AB.


  • Council received a presentation from Councillor Orren Ford with the Town of Peace River regarding the Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design.
  • Council received a presentation from TransCanada regarding the North Corridor expansion project.

Upcoming Council Meetings:

  • February 11 Governance & Priorities Committee Meeting at 5:00 p.m.
  • February 12 and 26 regular Council Meetings at 9:30 a.m.