T: 780-322-3831 | F: 780-322-3000 | Email:
Address: 10203 - 101 Avenue (Railway), Nampa AB, T0H 2R0


From Left to Right: Carolyn Kolebaba (Vice Chair), Harry Krawchuk (Member at Large), Doug Dallyn (Chair), Simon Lavoie (Member at Large), Bryan Gacek (Member at Large), Kyle Petluk (Member at Large), Kristy Belzile (Member at Large)


The Agricultural Service Board's authority is derived from the Agricultural Service Board Act R.S.A. 2000 Chapter A-10. Section 3(4) of the Act states that the board must exercise on behalf of Council all the powers and perform all the duties that are conferred on it by Council, under this or any other enactment, with respect to agricultural matters.  All policy changes and expenditures must be approved by Council.


The purpose of the Agricultural Service Board, as described in Section 2 of the Agricultural Service Board Act, are:

  • to act as an advisory body and to assist the Council and the Minister, in matters of mutual concern,

  • to advise on and to help organize and direct weed and pest control and soil and water conservation programs,

  • to assist in the control of animal disease under the Animal Health Act,

  • to promote, enhance and protect viable and sustainable agriculture with a view to improving the economic viability of the agricultural producer, and

  • to promote and develop agricultural policies to meet the needs of the municipality.


Agricultural Service Board members will be appointed annually by a resolution of Council at Council's annual organizational meeting.  Vacant positions will be advertised for two weeks and only those who submit an application in the prescribed form will be considered by Council.

As per Section 3(3) of the Agricultural Service Board Act, the membership of the Board must include persons who are familiar with agricultural concerns and issues and who are qualified to develop policies consistent with this Act.

Voting members shall include:

  • Five (5) members-at-large; and

  • Two (2) members of Council.

A majority of votes is required for a motion to be carried.  A tied vote will result in a lost motion.

Council shall make every effort to ensure that the ASB is comprised of members with diverse knowledge on agricutural matters.

Current Members



Member   Position
Doug Dallyn
Carolyn Kolebaba
Dan Boisvert
Kristy Belzile
Bryan Gacek
Simon Lavoie
Kyle Petluk
Harry Krawchuk

Chairperson & Vice-Chairperson

The positions of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson will be determined annually by Council at Council's annual organizational meeting.  The terms of these positions is one year, but can be renewed at Council's discretion.

Term / Expiry

All members will be appointed to a one year term, and their appointment may be renewed annually for an unlimited number of years, at Council's discretion.

A person who is a member of the Board ceases to be a member of the Board if, without being authorized by a resolution of the Board, the member is absent from three (3) consecutive regular meetings of the Board.

A vacancy on the Board does not impair the right of the remaining members to act as long as a majority of the members remain.

The Board must present drafts of the following in a form acceptable to Council containing the information required by Council for approval: budgets, strategic business plans, resolutions, policies, and a summary of its activities for the preceding year.

Under Section 6 of the Agricultural Service Board Act, in order to assit the Board, the Minister may designate an employee under the administration of the Minister as a Minister's representative
  1. to advise the Board on government programs, agricultural problems, and needs of the municipality, and

  2. to assist the Board, on the request of the Board, in the discharge of its duties.


The Agricultural Service Board will meet no fewer than four (4) times per year, and no more than twelve (12) times per year.  The Chairperson and Agricultural Fieldman will confer and determine when there is need for a meeting.  Every reasonable effort will be made to ensure that meetings are scheduled on dates and times that are mutually convenient for all ASB members.

Meeting Schedule
(from 9a.m.) unless other timings are posted

Click on the link to be redirected to the Northern Sunrise County CivicWeb to view past and upcoming meeting dates.


ASB Meetings are held at Northern Sunrise County Council Chambers.  If the meeting venue changes an update will be posted here.

Agendas & Minutes

The Agricultural Fieldman, in consultation with the Chairperson, is responsible for the preperation and circulation of meeting agendas and minutes.  Agendas and minutes are available on Northern Sunrise County's website, once approved by the Chairperson.

Agenda and Minutes are available for download in PDF format

Clicking on the above link will redirect to the Northern Sunrise County CivicWeb to view past and upcoming meeting dates, published agendas & minutes.

Administrative Support

The Northern Sunrise County Agricultural Serivces Department will provide administrative support to the ASB.


Agricultural Service Board members will be remunerated as per the Northern Sunrise County Policy 3.17 - Travel and Subsistence, and Policy 3.18 - Council and Board Remuneration.

Participation by Others

The Chair may authorize the attendance and participation of resource staff and other persons who may have information or other resources that may be of interest to the Agricultural Service Board.

Join a Board or Committee

To apply for a member at large position on a Board or Committee, submit the Committee Application Form (PDF) along with a current resume. 

Vacant positions will be advertised in the local newspaper, and on the Northern Sunrise County website.

Appointment of members to Boards and Committees takes place at the annual organizational meeting of Council.